Nike Pro Combat

Don’t kid yourself – there’s no badge of honor in chaffing. It doesn’t matter if its a tough workout or long run, the last thing to worry about are uncomfortable clothes. That’s where Dri-Fit technology comes into play.

It’s hard for me to remember a time without Dri-Fit t-shirts. You can find them anywhere for cheap as they’re no longer considered a luxury. I’ve come to understand Dri-Fit as a high performance material that breathes while your body sweats. Cotton, on the other hand, retains sweat and weighs down your shirt. I’m probably spoiled at this point because suiting up in cotton shirt seems like a punishment.

Fear of copyright laws and Nike forced me to take my own picture. Don’t worry Nike, this one’s on me, but I still like your shirt.

Nike’s taken the whole Dri-Fit experience a step further with the Pro Combat series for men and Pro Core for women (I guess Nike went on the hunch that women aren’t sold on the whole idea of combat). Their material moves sweat away from the body leaving it feeling cool and less restricted during exercising (or performing in sports). 

I’ve come to rely on my Pro Combat shirt for all my runs during this summer. It’s  the only shirt I have that can stand up to the brutal summer heat . I’ve logged quite a few 8-10 mile runs this summer and the Pro Combat has made sweating less of any issue. During the winter months, Pro Combat also works great under sweatshirts. This might’ve been Nike’s intent for this series of Dri-Fit. My skin doesn’t get irritated and manages to keep cool despite all the layers I pile on in winter conditions.

Keep an eye out for the next generation of Pro Combat shirts. The Hypercool series just came out and starts at $50.00. I’m willing to be patient and wait for the price to come down some, but Nike partnered with the NFL. This will be a test of my restraint.

Give the Pro or Hypercool series a try for your workouts. The material holds up really well after numerous washes as the color and fabric show no sign of fading. It’s worth the investment and your skin will thank you.

2 Responses to Nike Pro Combat

  1. Great blog Chris! Couldn’t agree more. The entire Nike Pro Combat / Core line, from compression shorts to long sleeve shirts, performs perfectly under the harshest of conditions. We’ve been carrying them for years at sportsunlimited.com, and they continue to be best sellers for us.

    • Thanks! Yes, it a great shirt but a lot of the marketing for men seem to be geared towards football. I think that the shirt gets overlooked sometimes. Either way the shirt holds up well. I appreciate you dropping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

